Experiences

  • New Zealand
  • Everything Australia

Easy to book - Secure Online Payments - Instant email confirmation - Flexible to make changes

Star Gazing Tours - Earth & Sky Lake Tekapo

  • Pin on Pinterest
  • Share on Facebook

Highly Recommended

Star Gazing Tours - Earth & Sky

from NZD$148.00

  • Star Gazing Tours - Earth & Sky image 1
  • Star Gazing Tours - Earth & Sky image 2
  • Star Gazing Tours - Earth & Sky image 3
  • Star Gazing Tours - Earth & Sky image 4

Watch Video

Star Gazing Tours - Earth & Sky

Prices & Options Currency Converter

Night Observatory Tour:

  • adult NZD$148.00
  • child (8-17yrs) NZD$83.00

Twilight Tour:

  • adult NZD$148.00
  • child (8-17yrs) NZD$83.00

Little Star Tour:

  • adult NZD$105.00
  • child (5-17yrs) NZD$60.00

Genuine Customer Reviews powered by Feefo

Service rating:   good

Fast, efficient service and good communication

Product rating:   good

The tour would have been very good and the staff looked after us up Mount John but my Dad should never have been allowed to go. We should have been told it was not a suitable trip for someone with limited ability to walk unaided

Reviewed 27-May-2017

Service rating:   excellent

晚上去山顶看到了南十字星,星座,景色非常美,值得一看。

Product rating:   excellent

Amazing Genius Star Tour.

Reviewed 11-Apr-2017

Service rating:   good

Thoroughly enjoyed, guides so enthusiastic you can't help catch some of there excitement about astronomy.
Would have preferred smaller group possibly so you could spend more time looking through scopes

Product rating:   good

Always good to learn something new guides so enthusiastic

Reviewed 19-Mar-2017

Service rating:   excellent

What an amazing night! The guides were so great - informative and friendly.
We would love to do it again except we live 18 hours away.

Product rating:  

Reviewed 30-Jan-2017

Service rating:   excellent

Great service from Everything Travel Group. Our tour didn't eventuate but you guys took the first step to contact us. Appreciated the immediate full refund. Could look for you guys again for future tours. Thank you.

Product rating:  

Reviewed 20-Jan-2017

Service rating:   good

Good communication etc

Product rating:   good

Great product, knowledgeable people and fantastic gazing - but I think it was a little too pricey on a time at the actual observatory basis. 1/2 an hour more would have felt more satisfactory.

Reviewed 26-Apr-2016

Service rating:   excellent

Nice touch getting a reminder a couple of days before the tour

Product rating:   excellent

One of the best tours I have ever been on.

Reviewed 07-Mar-2016

Service rating:   good

we were away and without email access so didn't get confirmation email sent a few days before our Mt John trip. Our booking form which I printed out when received in November had incorrect booking number which caused considerable angst and consternation and significant costs in phoning Tekapo the day before our trip. Still given it was sorted relatively quickly, I've scored this as good.

Product rating:   good

Very interesting, gave us things to think about and look at, but too many people on it, so time available to look in telescopes was limited. Might be a good idea to bunch people into groups with a leader. Enthusiastic presenters.

Reviewed 16-Jan-2016

Service rating:   excellent

your staff were very helpful and accomodating. they were patient in answering all our queries.

Product rating:   excellent

the staff are very knowledgeable and they look after the visitors very well.

Reviewed 16-Jan-2016

Service rating:   good

It was a shame it was a cloudy night - which I know you can't do anything about!

Product rating:   good

Staff were helpful and friendly and the tour of the observatory was interesting. The cloud did clear for a few minutes and so we did have a little bit of time to do some star gazing.

Reviewed 03-Jan-2016

Service rating:   excellent

Great!

Product rating:   excellent

Guides were great and we were very lucky to have a cloudless night. We enjoyed the whole experience. The 2 hours flew by!

Reviewed 09-Dec-2015

Service rating:   excellent

Bad weather the first night but no trouble to postpone until the second night.

Product rating:   excellent

The BEST tour and place to be and excellent guides with good and
appropriate information. LOVELY!!

Reviewed 09-Oct-2015

Service rating:   excellent

Very professional

Product rating:   excellent

Very good. The guides are ver professional and actively encouraged to ask question

Reviewed 29-Sep-2015

Service rating:   excellent

Awesome

Product rating:   excellent

Brilliant tour would recommend to anyone visiting Tekapo, amazing experience and my partner got to see Saturn on her birthday which was awesome!!

Reviewed 10-Aug-2015

Service rating:   excellent

Fantastic tour. Well organized with very professional commentary,
Definitely I highly recommend this to everyone.

Product rating:   excellent

No criticism at all. Looking through the telescopes, amazingly unforgettable.
Well worth it.

Reviewed 01-Aug-2015

Service rating:   good

Good

Product rating:   poor

I confirmed the booking in the morning by telephone, reached there on time and finally tour was cancelled due to bad whether though I will get refund but spent money/time on accommodation and travelling to get there, all in vein.

Reviewed 16-Jul-2015

Reply from Everything Travel Group

Thank you for providing us with your feedback about your experience with the Mt John Night Tour. Unfortunately this tour is very weather dependent and at times this means the tour needs to be cancelled last minute due to a change in weather conditions otherwise you would be disappointed by the tour. It's a difficult one and Earth and Sky do their best to accommodate their customers for them to have the best experience possible but last minute changes to the weather conditions do occur which is when this happens. If tours can be cancelled earlier then this is done but it can be very difficult to predict exact weather conditions in Tekapo hence the forecast isn't always exact. We are sorry you missed out on the tour and hope that one day you may be able to experience the tour again. You certainly were refunded in full as a result of the cancellation. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and thanks again for providing your feedback to us.

Belinda Stewart
Everything Travel Group.

Posted 19-Jul-2015

Service rating:   excellent

Prompt service and understanding staff.

Product rating:  

The tour was cancelled due to a local community event which also didn't take place due to weather conditions.

Reviewed 26-Jun-2015

Service rating:   good

had to cancel 1 ticket a few weeks prior to date and that was no problem. However initial booking overlooked the fact that we were seniors and had a different rate.

Product rating:   excellent

Fantastic, learned so much and it was great to see such passionate people doing the tour.

Reviewed 29-Mar-2015

Service rating:   excellent

Easy to book.

Product rating:   excellent

Excellent experience - unforgettable.

Reviewed 19-Feb-2015

Service rating:   excellent

Excellent service. No issues at all.

Product rating:   excellent

Wonderful tour. Guides were highly competent, knowledgeable and excellent communicators. I would thoroughly recommend the tour to anyone. The "Valentines Day" extra touches were much appreciated.

Reviewed 16-Feb-2015

Service rating:   excellent

Excellent service and knowledge

Product rating:   excellent

What an experience!

Reviewed 26-Jan-2015

Service rating:   excellent

Ok. Quick. Efficient.

Product rating:   excellent

Very knowledgable. Friendly. Caring.

Reviewed 07-Jan-2015

Service rating:   excellent

Brilliant, incredibly quick responses to email, very helpful and professional

Product rating:   excellent

It was informative, exciting in the dark and inspiring. Great to experience such a academic and fascinating field, and the time they took to explain things for us. Unfortunately the cloud cover was 70% and astrophotography emphasized on the website was not really mentioned. All in all a very special experience.

Reviewed 06-Jan-2015

Service rating:   bad

I think the customer service at the counter should be improved.

Product rating:  

Reviewed 04-Aug-2014

Reply from Everything Travel Group

Sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with the customer service when checking in for your Mt John Night Tour. It was a shame your tour had to be cancelled due to the weather conditions as well. We would like to pass your feedback on to the operator so I have emailed you and would appreciate it if you could provide us with further details about your experience. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Belinda Nichol
Everything Travel Group.

Posted 04-Aug-2014

Service rating:   excellent

What a great tour.

Product rating:   excellent

We were kept warm and comfortable at all times.

Reviewed 20-May-2014

Service rating:   excellent

good

Product rating:   excellent

I lost the bit of paper that gives me access to flickr to get the hight photo, what do I need to do to get a copy

Reviewed 17-May-2014

Service rating:   good

Booking went smoothly

Product rating:   poor

I thought this was overpriced. I can see the stars just as well from my own garden and three quick looks through telescopes wasn't worth $130. I really didn't need the bus driver to explain to me opening and shutting a gate! The guides were very good and well informed.

Reviewed 08-Apr-2014

Service rating:   excellent

Everything so easy to book highly reccomended

Product rating:   excellent

So many stars and great guides. Not to be missed

Reviewed 26-Feb-2014

Service rating:   excellent

Very easy to navigate website and booking was a breeze!

Product rating:   excellent

We were very lucky that the sky was perfect ! No moon, no wind !! The guide we had was good too! He had a very funny, animated way of explaining stuff and very entertaining ! Too bad we couldn't see what he looked like !

Reviewed 04-Nov-2013

Service rating:   excellent

Easy to use booking system, all good.

Product rating:   excellent

Good value for money. Friendly and informative staff, and lucky with the weather.
I would recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed 02-Nov-2013

Service rating:   good

The service was good.

Product rating:   good

Everything from the pick up and the personal service was great and what I expect in NZ but...I see stars often so cannot imagine the feelings of those from over countries who don't. I think that a bit more education about the tour and what people are going to view would make the tour more meaningful. A 3d video or 4d of our planets and perhaps more insight into how much distance and time is involved travelling to outer space would help people understand. When I pay and visit displays tours overseas they may not have so much authentic content but they are more interactive and have the wow factor! Imagine putting on 3D virtual glasses and walking around the moon or flying off into space in a rocket. A great build up and then being able to appreciate looking at the stars and planets. We are all part of the universe and I would have liked to have experienced more of that. I feel that Tekapo has a great opportunity to become a world class attraction but needs to improve.

Reviewed 04-Sep-2013

Service rating:   excellent

Easy, good communication about plans.

Product rating:   excellent

Unfortunately, total cloud cover, but still really great trip with lots of information from enthusiastic and knowledgeable folk. Learned a lot. Both loved it and will be back on a clear night.

Reviewed 18-Aug-2013

Service rating:   good

Okay although the times weren't correct. Although its an estimated time, Earth Sky has times basically set. 6pm is not close to 7pm.

Product rating:   excellent

Amazing. Very informative and staff were excellent. Saturn and the Moon were amazing.

Reviewed 21-Jul-2013

Service rating:   excellent

Helpfull and available

Product rating:   excellent

Knowledgeable and entertatining

Reviewed 21-Jul-2013

Service rating:   excellent

THE VOUCHER WAS PAID FOR MONTHS IN ADVANCE. NOT MY PROBLEM IF PRICES HAVE INCREASED. I SHOULD NOT HAD TO PAY THE EXTRA $20.- AS THE VOUCHER DID NOT EXPIRE TILL THE 16TH JUNE. THAT IS WHY I SCORE IT POOR OR SHOULD IT BE "BAD". I WOULD NOT BOOK WITH EVERYTHING NZ AGAIN.

Product rating:   excellent

LOVED IT. EXCELLENT NIGHT TO WATCH THE STARS.

Reviewed 11-Jun-2013

Reply from Everything Travel Group

Hi Peter. Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your Tekapo star gazing experience with Earth & Sky however I'm sorry you felt the service you received from the Everything Travel Group was poor. The reason why you had to pay the extra $20 was that you had an Everything Travel Group gift voucher worth $105 that could be redeemed towards the cost of any activities listed on our website. Like most activity operators in NZ and Australia, Earth & Sky annually increase the price of their Star Gazing tour and at the time of your star gazing booking the price had increased to $125. The prices listed on our website are set by the activity operators themselves, not by the Everything Travel Group. If a customer pre books an activity with us at the lower price and then the price goes up after they have booked the customer will not have to pay the difference. However if prices go up before you book then you will need to pay the current value for that specific activity as per our terms and conditions. I'm sorry this was not made clearer to you by our reservation staff and I can totally understand your frustration and confusion given you had a valid gift voucher. As a gesture of goodwill I have refunded the $20 back on to your credit card. Peter thanks again for taking the time to offer your comments. We continually strive to provide the best possible customer service and feedback like yours is invaluable in assisting us improve our business.

Callum Goodall
Everything Travel Group

Posted 10-Jun-2013

Reply from Customer

After our discussion/replies etc, I feel different about your company and therefore revise my comment. I hope there will be other occasions where I would use your services again in the future. Cheers.

Posted 11-Jun-2013

Service rating:   good

..

Product rating:   excellent

Highly professional delivery from the guide. We learned a lot. We are NZers and were proud of the service and experience delivered for tourists.

Reviewed 09-May-2013

Service rating:   excellent

Considering the booking was made many months in advance from the UK, the
communication by email was helpful and efficient.

Product rating:   poor

I'm sorry to say I was hugely disappointed. I had been looking forward to it for months, so it was unfortunate, and not the organisers' fault that in an outstanding NZ summer, we were unlucky to have an overcast sky for the night booked. But over and above that, I thought we were going have the opportunity to view the southern hemisphere through a large astronomer's telescope, and was very disappointed that we were only "shown" that marvellous piece of equipment, and were only able to look through the portable commercial type that the public can buy in shops. I think Earth & Sky should make that clear on their information, as the ticket price is not cheap.
The next morning I climbed Mt. John to view the glorious panorama over Lake Tekapo and beyond to the Alps and the MacKenzie country ... made up for the night before.

Reviewed 19-Mar-2013

Reply from Everything Travel Group

Hi Raewyn. Thanks for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed in your star gazing experience in Lake Tekapo. It must have been so frustrating for you to have overcast skies on the one night you book your tour! I have passed on your most welcome comments regarding the telescope to the management at Earth & Sky and I'm sure they will take them on board and make any necessary changes.

Callum Goodall
Everything Travel Group

Posted 25-Mar-2013

Service rating:   good

Know very little about this group as we booked at earth and sky

Product rating:   poor

Group too large, very long quese making you obliged to move away without the opportunity to take your time to gaze at the amazing veiws

Reviewed 14-Mar-2013

Reply from Everything Travel Group

Thanks for your feedback Kim. Everything Travel Group is the online booking agent that you booked your Earth & Sky star gazing experience through. I'm sorry you encountered long queues while star gazing on Mt John in Tekapo. I will pass this important information on to the manager at Earth & Sky so they can do everything they can to avoid this happening to future customers.

Callum Goodall
Everything Travel Group

Posted 15-Mar-2013

Latest Questions about Star Gazing Tours - Earth & Sky (Lake Tekapo)

HI guy's. .is there vacancies for 2 adults on the night tour for the 24 th of this month? ..
Thanks Ray..

0 comments - Post a Comment

Hi we are a family of 6 which includes 2 adults, 1 senior and 3 children ages 9, 7 and 5. We understand that your little star tours only operates in the winter months but we will only be in NZ in the month of december. Is there a tour or a variation whereby my young ones can experience stargazing in the month of december as I understand that it is you spring/ summer month.

Comments

The Little Stars tour in Lake Tekapo does only operate during winter however there is another tour that is suitable for kids 5 and older called the Cowans Tour star gazing tour. This is very similar to the normal night tour however it is run at a slightly different location and is a little cheaper. The cost would be $93 for adults, $83 for the senior and $53 for kids. This tour runs most nights so if you could let me know which dates you are thinking of in December I can let you know if there is space for you on that night.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 15th Aug 16 at 12:56

1 comment - Post a Comment

For the Little Star tour what times do they start ?

Comments

The Little Star tour in Tekapo operates during the winter months only and departs at approximately 5pm.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 4th Jul 16 at 21:50

1 comment - Post a Comment

We are staying in Queenstown. How do we get to Lake Tekapo? Can you pick us up? Two people.

Comments

Tekapo is a good 3 hour drive from Queenstown and there are no return transfers offered as part of the Mt John star gazing tour unfortunately. There is a star gazing tour available in Queenstown from the top of the Skyline gondola complex. You can also add in dinner at the Skyline restaurant. Cost is $89 for the tour and return gondola ride or $135 if you include dinner. 

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 21st Jun 16 at 16:52

1 comment - Post a Comment

How far in advance do I need to book for Mt John Night Tour

Comments

Hi Heather, the Mt John Night Tour is very popular especially during the summer months so bookings need to be made at least a week in advance if not earlier at this time of year. The tour is heavily booked until the end of February at this stage. Let us know what date you are thinking of doing the Mt John Night tour and we can check availability for you.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 20th Jan 16 at 07:56

Hi Heather, the Mt John Night Tour is very popular especially during the summer months so bookings need to be made at least a week in advance if not earlier at this time of year. The tour is heavily booked until the end of February at this stage. Let us know what date you are thinking of doing the Mt John Night tour and we can check availability for you.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 20th Jan 16 at 07:56

2 comments - Post a Comment

What's the difference between the Mt John Night Observatory Tour & Twilight Tour?

Comments

Hi Szean, the Twilight Tour runs earlier than the Mt John Night Tour so you catch the last of the sunset as well as doing some star gazing. While you wait for the sun to go down you will get a tour of the observatory and the facilities there, watch a short film and have a hot drink and cake before star gazing.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 1st Jan 16 at 07:46

1 comment - Post a Comment

Hi there,
Is under 5's free on the Little Stars tour?

Comments

Yes children under 5 years of age do travel for free on all the star gazing tours in Tekapo.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 10th Jun 15 at 22:39

1 comment - Post a Comment

Hi Could you please clarify what a "Little Stars Tour" is? You have very good feedback but the cost is very expensive. I would love to bring my star gazing grandchildren hopefully this would be a way for them to experience it. Many thanks Joy priest

Comments

The Little Star tour at Mt John in Tekapo is very similar to the standard night tour however it is a little shorter and is the first tour for the night so more suitable for kids.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 27th May 15 at 23:36

1 comment - Post a Comment

what nights can you put your cameras
on the telescopes

Comments

Hi Carolyn, each night there is a photographer up at the Mt John Observatory who can assist in having the correct settings on your camera to get the best pictures of the night sky. You won't actually put your camera on the telescope but you will be educated on how to get the best pictures of the night sky by using the correct settings.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 13th Mar 15 at 10:04

1 comment - Post a Comment

My husband and I will be holidaying in your area late Dec 2014 to early Jan 2015. We would like to do the night observatory tour and want to know before we book accommodation if you will be open to do the tours in those days or will you be closed for the holiday break? Depending on your days of being open will be when we book our accommodation. Thanks very much.

Comments

Hi Harsha. The Lake Tekapo star gazing tours operate every day of the year except Christmas day. The period over Christmas and New Years and the summer school holidays are the busiest time for bookings so we do recommend booking well in advance.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 23rd May 14 at 19:54

1 comment - Post a Comment

We will be visiting lake Tekapo for one night in December and would like to do the night observatory tour however with 3 children, youngest of whom is 8 yrs old I am worried it will be too late and they will get bored ... If I book the sunset tour will we still be able to view stars through the telescope once it gets dark?

Comments

Hi Anna,

You will be able to star gaze for the last 20 minutes of the sunset tour. It will not be a dark sky, but you will be able to see bright objects.

The later tour finishes as 12:30am - so it is quite late.

Kind regards

Nigel Hobbs

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Nigel) on 24th Nov 13 at 11:45

1 comment - Post a Comment

What time does the night tour usually depart? Me and my friends are planning to go to lake Tekapo on the 19th and we'd probably be there at around 6pm. COuld we still make it?

Comments

Hi Marge. The night time Lake Tekapo star gazing tours on Mt John depart an hour or so after sunset all year. These times vary depending on the sunset. On Monday 19th August the sun is setting at right on 6pm so there is a night time star gazing tour departing at 7.15pm on this night. I recommend booking asap as these tours do book up. Once you book and pay online we will email your e ticket and booking confirmation.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 16th Aug 13 at 18:16

1 comment - Post a Comment

My family will be staying at Tekapo 2,3,4 Jan. Can I buy vouchers for two adults and one child for them as a Christmas gift?

Comments

Hi Joyce. Yes you certainly can buy an open dated gift voucher for the Tekapo Star Gazing. To do this simply go to the Star Gazing page on our website and click on the Book Now button at the top or bottom of the page. Then check the box at the top of the page where it says "I want this to be an open dated Gift Voucher". You then write a message, click the green tick and then choose the options you want. Add this to your Basket, go to the Check out page and pay and we will then email you back with a Gift Voucher.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 6th Nov 12 at 14:53

1 comment - Post a Comment

Hi

We are going to Tekapo this weekend and have a voucher to use for start gazing which we would like to do on 1 September (night tour). What is the cancellation policy is we book now - the only reason we would cancel is if the weather wasn't very good.

Comments

Hi Katherine, if you book the Tekapo Star Gazing with your voucher for this weekend and Earth & Sky cancel the tour becuase of poor weather then your voucher will be refunded the money. 

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 27th Aug 12 at 12:10

1 comment - Post a Comment

Are you operating on 15/9/12 for a night visit?
Up to how many people can you take?
What happens if it is cloudy?
Many thanks
Ruth

Comments

Hi Ruth,

Yes the Star Gazing Tours at Lake Tekapo are operating on the 15th of September.

When stars are hidden from sight by cloud, The Earth & Sky crew will take you on journey to discover the nocturnal world of an astronomer. See behind the scenes of Mt John Observatory, usually out-of-bounds to the general public. Nowhere else can you experience what you see and hear on our Mt John Stargazing Tour. This behind the scene tour is arguably as interesting and amazing as the star gazing.

Regards,

Nigel

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Nigel) on 25th Aug 12 at 15:32

1 comment - Post a Comment

I am hoping to visit some time in March 2013, I will have a Canon 60D with me - what would I need to connect to your scopes if there was a chance to use it (I have a T adaptor that I use with my scope in the UK).

Comments

Hi Brian. I have spoken to the team at Earth & Sky who run the Mt John night tours and they have informed me that it is not possible to connect your camera up to the telescopes.However, there is a tracking mount which can hold up to 5 cameras and moves with the telescope which enables you to take some longer exposure shots with your camera.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 7th Aug 12 at 19:30

1 comment - Post a Comment

I have been told that the "Southern Lights" might be able to be "predicted" around 24hrs prior to ocurring. Is this correct? Can we book is there a website to monitor this and check the weather forcast? Accordingly, can we book at VERY short notice as will fly from Auckland. Thanks :)

Comments

Hi Kevin, the Southern Lights are very difficult to predict however there are conditions that make it more likely to occur such as high levels of sun activity and no moon. Within the next week conditions are good for Southern Lights appearing however the window of warning given that it is going to appear is only moments before so not enough in advance to fly down from Auckland unfortunately.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 11th Jul 12 at 16:56

1 comment - Post a Comment

Hi can we just drive up and ssee the observeratery and have someting to eat in the cafe?What does your cafe serve for adults and kids.

Comments

Hi Jo, yes you certainly can drive up to the Mt John Observatory during the day and have something at the cafe. The cafe serves muffins, scones, slices, cakes as well as an all day breakfast menu including bacon and eggs, toasted sandwiches and bagels etc.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 2nd Jul 12 at 17:50

1 comment - Post a Comment

I would like to give my husband and our daughter a gift voucher for the night tour. The dates I am looking at are Sept 29th or 30th

Comments

Hi Tricia, this is no problem at all if you want to purchase them a gift voucher just click on the Book Now button on the Earth & Sky page and then at the top of this page check the box that says "I want this to be an open dated gift voucher" that way they will receive the voucher for the Mt John Tour and then when they redeem it online they can select the exact date they want to go.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 26th Jun 12 at 12:01

1 comment - Post a Comment

What happens if you have prebooked and then the weather doesnt allow viewing?

Comments

Hi E, if the weather prevents your Mt John Star Gazing tour from going ahead then you are given the chance to reschedule or offered a full refund.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 20th Jun 12 at 18:30

Hello, can you please advise whether the state of the moon has an effect on star gazing?

Comment by: Alex van Wijngaarden on 18th Jul 12 at 22:01

Hi Alex, yes the moon certainly does affect star gazing. With a full moon, viewing of stars is poor as there is too much light and you are likely to see only planets and bright stars. The best time for star gazing is when there is a new moon.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group on 19th Jul 12 at 12:27

3 comments - Post a Comment

Hi there,

I am from auckland, and plan for a 2 or 3 days trip to Lake Tekepo to see Aurora Australis, when is the best time to go there during the year? and should I fly to Tiramu or Christchurch, or Queenstown then drive to Tekepo?

Thanks a lot

Elva Chan

Comments

Hi Elva, an Aurora Australis is extremely unpredictable and no one can ever be certain when it is going to happen. It depends on how active the sun is but it can occur any time of day or night for either a few seconds or last a few hours. Winter is generally a good time of year to see one but only because there are more dark hours.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 20th Jun 12 at 19:45

1 comment - Post a Comment

Hi. What if we have booked a particular night time tour and the weather is bad, also is it adviseable to prebook or can we book on the day?

Comments

Hi Jenny. If the weather is bad and the Lake Tekapo Star Gazing tour doesn't go ahead then you can reschedule or get a full refund from us. It is adviseable to book in advance as there are often tour groups that book up entire nights.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 23rd May 12 at 11:50

1 comment - Post a Comment

Hi, I was wondering if the nighttime Star gazing tour is suitable for someone in a wheelchair (me)

Comments

Hi Colin, the Mt John Night tour is not ideal for wheelchair access however if you have a support person with you and have some mobility then you may be ok. The issue will be getting in and out of the van to get up to Mt John and there are a few steps to get up once you get there. If this doesn't sound like an issue then you should be fine.  

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 22nd May 12 at 10:10

Hi Colin, the Mt John Night tour is not ideal for wheelchair access however if you have a support person with you and have some mobility then you may be ok. The issue will be getting in and out of the van to get up to Mt John and there are a few steps to get up once you get there. If this doesn't sound like an issue then you should be fine.  

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 22nd May 12 at 15:22

2 comments - Post a Comment

Hi my name is Fin Pringle-Booth i am interested in booking a night tour for some friends of mine as a gift. i was wondering if i was to book a night tour if you get to do star gazing during that and also i would like to ask if i was to book it if i had to book it for a specific date or if i could get a sort of booking that could be moved to when is suitable for them? also are there any specific astronomical events in the next 6 months that would be worthy of a special trip? thank you

Comments

Hi Fin Pringle-Booth, you can certainly book the Earth and Sky Night Observatory Tour as a gift you just need to tick the box that says "I want this to be an open dated Gift Voucher" at the top of the Book Now page. You do not select a date, rather it is a voucher for your friends to book when they would like to do it. When they have decided on the date that they want to go they just book it online and use the voucher code to pay. Star gazing is included in the night tour and Tekapo is one of the best places in the world to view the stars. There are no particiular astronomical events that Mt John are advertising in the next 6 months however the experience is magnificent any day as long as the skies are clear.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 8th May 12 at 15:03

1 comment - Post a Comment

I am flexible as to when to take the night tour. Can you suggest the best night,(in the near future) when I should book this?

Comments

Hi Boyd. The weather is meant to clear Tueday and Wednesday next week (1st & 2nd May). If you are wanting to book the Earth & Sky star gazing tour in Tekapo I'd suggest Wednesday 2nd May might be your best option as there is a full moon later in the week which will mean the sky is not as dark at night and the starz wont be as clear.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 29th Apr 12 at 16:32

1 comment - Post a Comment

Hi!
We are a family of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids), and are staying in Tekapo fo2 4 nights from July 2nd.
We would like to do the Observatory Night Tour, but are wondering if it's best to book ahead to secure a place, or wait until we get there so we can pick the best night/weather.
Can you please advise?
Many thanks,
Jodi (from Adelaide, Sth Australia)

Comments

Hi Jodi I would recommend booking the Mt John Night Tour for a family of 5 in advance. They often have tour groups coming through which can fill out the tours so it's best to confirm your spot in advance. If the weather is no good and the tour is cancelled you are given the option to reschedule or obtain a full refund. Alternatively if you arrive in Tekapo and want to change your tour date then that is fine as long as there is still space on the night you want to go. You just need to get in touch with us and we can ammend your booking if space allows.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 1st Apr 12 at 13:24

1 comment - Post a Comment

Can we just drive up in the evening to see the night sky from the top of the road or cafe?

Comments

Hi Richard. The road is closed at night time and is only accessible via tour. To see the stars from up there in the evening you will need to join the Mt John Observatory Night Tour.

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Belinda) on 19th Mar 12 at 18:57

1 comment - Post a Comment

When is it most likely to be able to see the Aurora from Mt John

Comments

Hi Kathleen. It is impossible to predict when the southern lights or Aurora Australis will be visible from Mt John Observatory in Lake Tekapo as it depends solely on the suns solar activity. It can be visible at any time of the year, summer or winter, although it is often seen more regluarly in winter only because it is dark for longer and the daylight hours are much shorter. Fortunately it has been viewed from Mt John Observatory the last couple of nights but wh knows how long it will stay around for. The Aurora Australis is truly a spectacular sight but even if it isn't visible on the night you visit Lake Tekapo the stars themselves will blow you away! 

Comment by: Everything Travel Group (Callum) on 13th Mar 12 at 19:21

1 comment - Post a Comment

97%
rating

97% of new customers that used Everything New Zealand to provide advice and securely book their NZ activities have let us know they've had a good or excellent experience with us. Thank you.